Free Book Online
Book Where Dead Men Meet

Pdf

Where Dead Men Meet

3.5 (2245)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Where Dead Men Meet.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Mark Mills(Author)

    Book details


A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris

Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton -- a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy -- finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity -- or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.

From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

''The best novel I read this year. Where Dead Men Meet is an exhilarating and hair-raising charge through pre-war Europe, with danger at every stunningly beautiful turn. Mills' descriptions of Paris, Venice, and Zurich are filled with both elegance and lurking menace. Mark Mills is Alan Furst with afterburners, and this book is a powerful tale of revenge, love, and self-discovery, all packed into an utterly compelling historical thriller.'' --Mark Pryor, author of The Paris Librarian ''Where Dead Men Meet is a grand adventure, in the tradition of Graham Greene's 'entertainments,' and John Buchan's before that -- a sweeping race through Europe for the highest possible stakes, in the year before the Anschluss. Here's hoping it's only the first of many exploits for Luke and Pippi.'' --Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author ''Like Alan Furst, Mills has a sure hand with historical thrillers that mix intrigue, setting, and romance, and, after a five-year absence, it's great to have him back. --Booklist ''A pulse-pounding thriller of the first order...Believable characters, a richly detailed historical setting, and a story that keeps the reader's attention glued until the final page.'' --Library Journal (starred review)''A powerhouse of a novel, throwing sparks and hissing steam as it traverses the fractious landscape of prewar Europe in the company of vivid and memorable characters.'' --Dan Fesperman, award-winning author of The Letter Writer ''...Like watching a classic Alfred Hitchcock movie, one with an expertly drawn everyman caught up in engrossing intrigue and on the run from dangerous spies and nefarious characters…. smart entertainment, a suspenseful escapade across Europe with a dash of romance and involving characters who insist you come along for the unforgettable ride.'' --Elyse Dinh-McCrillis, Shelf Awareness Mark Mills is a screenwriter and the author of The Savage Garden and Amagansett. His first novel, Amagansett, was published in a dozen countries and received the British Crime Writers' Association John Creasy Memorial Dagger Award. A graduate of Cambridge University, he lives in Oxford with his wife and their two children.

3.5 (11372)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 332 pages
  • Mark Mills(Author)
  • Blackstone Publishing; Unabridged Hardcover edition (May 30, 2017)
  • English
  • 5
  • Literature & Fiction

Read online or download a free book: Where Dead Men Meet

 

Review Text

  • By Dyane Baldwin on June 7, 2017

    Looked forward to the delight of another Mills story. Sadly this one lacks the measured pace of previous efforts. The violence and deaths make it just another book supposed to be a thriller. Chapters in Venice rescue to some extent -they the Mills writing expected. Overall it feels like the author just wanted to get it done rather then develop the story. Hope next book returns to his previous writing style.

  • By J D Coleman on August 11, 2017

    Hard to understand why the cover is not filled with rave reviews. This is polished stuff with hardly space to take a breath. Moves confidently all across pre-war Europe and keeps you guessing. Now looking for another from Mr. Mills.

  • By Guest on August 20, 2017

    Good story telling with interesting characters and plot. Uses familiar backdrop of WWII, but tells a new story. Wonder if author plans a sequel. Seemed to set that up.

  • By artist on October 9, 2017

    Well written and suspenseful from start to finish , this is a page turner. People have confused Luke with someone else and those helping him stay alive are as interesting as those trying to kill him. A good spy novel read.

  • By DuaneD on November 10, 2017

    This book is very well written. The complex plot lines are resolved and don't leave the reader confused. Interesting international "thriller" without being in the spy genre.

  • By Rev Steve on August 21, 2017

    A real thriller, not a romance novel in disguise. It wasn't predictable and kept me interested throughout. Lots of twists and turns in the plot and a very enjoyable read.

  • By Desda C. Kerr on March 3, 2018

    It was fast paced and really held one guessing. Now it became confusing because of the very different characters, sometimes I could not recognize the various characters.

  • By SuzyC on September 4, 2017

    Keeps you guessing to the end. Well rounded characters, intriguing settings and fast paced action. Oh, and you want to follow up with the sequel of course.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: